Imagine Dragons Biography

1 year ago 446

Listen Sheet Music Download

Members:  Dan Reynolds (singer), Wayne Sermon (guitar), Ben McKee (bassist), Daniel Platzman (drum)

Origin:  Las Vegas, Nevada, U.S.

Years active: 2008 - Present

Genres: Pop rock, Electropop, Pop, Indie pop, Arena rock, Alternative rock

Labels: Kidinakorner, Interscope


2008: Started with Dan Reynolds, Andrew Tolman, Andrew Beck, Dave Lemke, and Aurora Florence. They released an extended play titled Speak to Me. However, Beck and Florence departed from the band's line-up later that year.

2009: Tolman recruited Wayne Sermon and his wife, Britanny Tolman to sing back-up and play keys. Lekme left and leading Sermon to recruit Ben Mckee to join the band.

September 2009: Released a self-titled EP Imagine Dragons.

March 2010: Released their second EP "Hell and Silence".

March 2011: Released their third EP "It's time".

August 2011: Tolmans left and Daniel Platzman was recruited alongside keyboardist Theresa Flaminio.

Early 2012: Theresa Flaminioz left, and leaving them as four-piece (the current formation).

February 2012: Released an EP entitled Continued Silence. They also released EP titled Hear Me subsequently and "It's Time" as a single. This song was certified a 6 × p platinum single by the RIAA.

September 2012: Released  their debut album "Night Visions". The album reached No. 1 on the Billboard Alternative and Rock Album charts and won a Billboard Music Award for Top Rock Album. The album's second single "Radioactive" also reached No. 1 on the Billboard Alternative Songs, Billboard Rock Songs, and Swedish singles chart and became the genre's biggest hit of 2013. It is also the best-selling rock song on the Nielsen SoundScan running list of best-selling rock songs in digital history. Third single, "Demons" and fourth single, "On Top Of The World" also topped the chart. 

2013: Billboard listed them as one of "2012's Brightest New Stars" and later "The Breakout Band of 2013". They also won the 2014 Billboard Music Awards for Top Duo/Group, Top Hot 100 Artist, and Top Rock Artist. 

April 2013: Released a live album "Live at Independent Records".

June 2014: Released song for the film Transformers: Age of Extinction, called "Battle Cry".

September 2014: Released song "Warriors" for the 2014 League of Legends World Championship.

October 2014: Released the lead single, "I Bet My Life" from their upcoming album.

December 2014: Released their second single, "Gold".

January 2015: Released their third single, "Shots".

February 2015: Released their second studio album "Smoke + Mirrors" and debuted at No.1 on the Billboard 200.

August 2015: Released non-album single, "Roots".

October 2015: Released non-album single, "I Was Me".

December 2015: Released a cover of "I Love You All the Time" by Eagles of Death Metal in support of the victims of the November 2015 Paris attacks.

March 2016: Released a one night only concert film, Imagine Dragons In Concert: Smoke + Mirrors.

April - June 2016: Released the soundtracks songs "Not Today from Me Before You and "Sucker for Pain" from Suicide Squad with Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa, Logic, Ty Dolla Sign, and X Ambassadors.

December 2016: Released the song "Levitate", recorded for the film Passengers.

February 2017: Released the lead single, "Believer" from their third album.

April 2017: Released their second single, "Thunder".

May 2017: Released their third studio album "Evolve" and third single, "Whatever It Takes". 

October 2017: "Whatever It Takes" was released as an official single off the album. This song won the MTV Video Music Award for Best Rock Video in 2018.

February 2018: Released new single titled "Next to Me".

June 2018: Collaboration with Kygo titled "Born to Be Yours".

July 2018: Released a new single titled "Natural" which was used as the anthem for the 2018 ESPN College Football season.

September 2018: Released a new single titled "Zero" was used in the end credits of the Walt Disney Animation Studios film Ralph Breaks the Internet.

November 2018: Released their fourth studio album "Origins" while "Natural" and "Zero" serve as the lead singles off the album. Also released the third single "Machine" and fourth single "Bad Liar" off the album.

January 2019: Performed the halftime show for the 2019 College Football Championship game. 

June 2019: Released a new version "Birds", featuring Italian singer Elisa, as the fifth and final single from Origins.

January 2020: Released a music video for "Nothing Left to Say", a song from their debut album Night Visions.

March 2021: Released two singles, "Follow You" and "Cutthroat".

July 2021: Released the single, "Wrecked".

September 2021: Released their fifth studio album "Mercury – Act 1" along with the single "Monday".

October 2021: Released the single "Enemy" featuring rapper JID, as part of the soundtrack to the Netflix series Arcane.

Personal Quotes:

  • Everyone is competing with everything else, but we have this very dynamic record that we put a lot of thought into, and radio just smashes the hell out of it. There's not much left after that happens, just one level. There's no loud, there's no quiet. It's just smashed.

Photo courtesy of DepositPhotos